Lot 285 of 302:
Illustrations by "Jacob Parallel"  

Click image to enlarge
Lot closed - Sold For (Includes Buyers Premium):$24
Estimate:
$10 - $100

Title:
Charley Chalk; or, the Career of an Artist

Author:
[Anonymous]

Place:
London

Publisher:
G. Berger

Date:
[c. 1840]

Description:

[2], vi, 310 pp. Illustrated plates by Jacob Parallel [pseud.] with additional illustrated title page. (8vo), modern red half levant with marbled boards bound by Zaehnsdorf, marbled endpapers, top edge gilt. First Edition.

A typical Victorian picaresque novel, in the vein of Dickens and Thackeray, written under the guise of a memoir by an artist who recounts his travails as advice to young and future artists. 

Nothing is immediately recorded about the author and little is known about the pseudonymous illustrator Jacob Parallel, other than that he did a separate suite of plates for Master Humphrey's Clock, also published by Berger in 1841.


Lot Amendments

Condition:
Rubbing along joints and edges; frontispiece starting; very good.

Lots sold without reserve are sold “as Is” and are not returnable under any circumstances. The minimum shipping and handling per invoice is $20 for shipments to the US and $30 for shipments outside the US please consider this when determining your bid amount

 
Item number:
301497a
Shipping info:

We have a full service shipping department to ensure proper packing and safe delivery of purchases at reasonable cost. We are specialists at packing and shipping books and works on paper.   All lots purchased by the same client are combined for shipping in order to keep the cost as economical as possible.  Our preferred method for domestic shipments is UPS Ground but we can also ship via FedEx or USPS Priority Mail. We do NOT ship USPS Media Mail under any circumstances.For international orders we select the most appropriate carrier depending on the value and weight of the items purchased.  We are happy to accommodate special arrangements by request.

Invoices are sent out the day following the auction and include a minimum $10 handling fee plus actual shipping and insurance charges.

Shipping estimates can be obtained  by contacting [email protected] prior to the auction.

 

Terms and conditions

CONTRACTS

All accepted bids are contracts and are considered final and non withdrawable.

BUYER'S PREMIUM

A buyer's premium of 20% will be applied to all purchases.

ONLINE BIDDING

The person posting the bids online has to be the person who has registered for the auction.